Lisson Gallery

Royal Academy of Arts elects John Akomfrah and Carmen Herrera Royal Academicians

13 June 2019

The Royal Academy of Arts has elected John Akomfrah as a Royal Academician in the category of Painting and international artist Carmen Herrera as Honorary Royal Academician.

The Royal Academy of Arts is governed by 80 Royal Academicians who are all practising artists or architects. On reaching the age of 75 they become Senior Academicians thus initiating vacancies for new Members. Elections are held at regular meetings of the General Assembly, when new Members are voted in by existing RAs.

Honorary Academicians are distinguished artists who are not residents in the UK. A maximum of two per year may be appointed by the RAs. Other Honorary Royal Academicians include Marina Abramović, Tadao Ando, Georg Baselitz, Per Kirkeby, Anselm Kiefer, Jeff Koons, Renzo Piano, Cindy Sherman, Frank Stella, and Ai Weiwei.

For more information visit the Royal Academy’s website as well as Akomfrah's and Herrera's RA pages
Click here for more News
We use cookies on our website to improve your experience. You can find out why by reading our privacy policy. By continuing to browse our site you agree to our use of cookies Privacy Policy