Lisson Gallery

Wael Shawky nominated for Hugo Boss Prize

23 October 2015

The Guggenheim Museum has announced the shortlist for the 2016 Hugo Boss Prize, the biennial award established in 1996 to recognise artists whose work is among the most innovative and influential of our time.

Over the past two decades juries have identified and selected as finalists paradigm-shifting artists from around the world, recognising the achievements of both emerging and established figures, setting no parameters in terms of age, gender, or medium.

Nominees for the 2016 Prize include Tania Bruguera, Mark Leckey, Ralph Lemon, Laura Owens, Wael Shawky, and Anicka Yi.

The prize, administered by the Solomon R. Guggenheim Foundation, has become an integral part of the Guggenheim’s contemporary art programming. The winner is awarded a $100,000 cash prize and featured in a solo exhibition at the Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum, New York. The Hugo Boss Prize catalogues, which have evolved over the years into ambitious collaborations between curators, artists, and designers, form a key component of the program’s legacy.

For more information on the 2016 Huge Boss Prize, please visit:

Wael Shawky nominated for Hugo Boss Prize
Click here for more News
We use cookies on our website to improve your experience. You can find out why by reading our privacy policy. By continuing to browse our site you agree to our use of cookies Privacy Policy