Lisson Gallery

Joanna Pousette-Dart elected to National Academy of Design

28 September 2021

The National Academy of Design has announced that it will induct eight new National Academicians at a ceremony on 27 October 2021. Recognised for their contributions to contemporary American art and architecture, this year’s group of newly elected National Academicians include Joanna Pousette-Dart, as well as architect Andrew Freear and artists Joanne Greenbaum, Peter Halley, Trenton Doyle Hancock, Rashid Johnson, Julie Mehretu, and Gary Simmons.

The annual nomination and election of National Academicians dates back to the National Academy’s founding as America’s first artist-led arts organization in 1825. New Academicians are nominated and elected by the current members of the National Academy and Pousette-Dart will join a community of no more than 450 artists and architects across the country who represent the breadth of cultural practice in the United States.

Upon election, Academicians are invited to donate a representative work—called a Diploma Work—to the National Academy’s collection. Through the contributions of more than 2,300 National Academicians over 195 years, the collection has become one of the most significant collections of American art and architecture in the world.

The 2021 National Academician Induction Ceremony will take place on 27 October 2021. A special exhibition featuring recent work of the 2021 National Academicians is slated for early 2022. Visit the National Academy of Design website for more details.

Joanna Pousette-Dart elected to National Academy of Design
Click here for more News
We use cookies on our website to improve your experience. You can find out why by reading our privacy policy. By continuing to browse our site you agree to our use of cookies Privacy Policy